Melodifestivalen - the Grand Final from Stockholm
Published On: März 8th, 2024

After five weeks of heated competition, Swedes are finally at the edge of their seats for the grand final of this year’s Melodifestivalen in Stockholm, the stage is set to unveil the winner who will proudly represent Sweden in Malmö.

The 64th edition of Sweden’s beloved music festival is underway, continuing its tradition of smashing viewing records. While the dream for participants is to grace the Eurovision stage, it’s essential to highlight the significance of the Swedish music market. Therefore, presenting top-tier songs with hit potential is paramount.

The production of Melodifestivalen is synonymous with professionalism, characterized by meticulous planning and execution. Every detail is carefully crafted, from staging to choreography, ensuring a flawless presentation. The stage design, often retained for Eurovision, adds to the consistency and excellence of the event.

Furthermore, Melodifestivalen boasts renowned performers like Carola and Måns Zelmerlöw. Sweden has a track record of Eurovision success, often embracing contemporary music trends. However, with many entries composed by the likes of Thomas G:son, there’s a potential drawback of repetitive styles. While initially fresh, some songs may lack originality upon closer inspection, contrasting with Estonia’s Eesti Laul, which celebrates diversity and creativity in song writing.

The Swedish final will unfold at the Friends Arena in Stockholm, hosted by Carina Berg. Unlike the previous show, where televoting exclusively determined outcomes, the Grand Final adopts a unique approach: 50% televoting and 50% international jury votes. Additionally, a novel method arranges televoters into age groups, spotlighting favoured demographics. This year’s line-up includes familiar faces like Danny Saucedo, Dotter, Clara Klingenström, Samir & Victor, Lisa Ajax, Marcus & Martinus, Liamoo among others, adding to the anticipation.

This is the final line up in alphabetical order:

  1. Maria Sur – “When I’m Gone”
  2. Jay Smith – “Back To My Roots” 
  3. Lisa Ajax – “Awful Liar”
  4. Smash into Pieces – “Heroes Are Calling” 
  5. Cazzi Opeia – “Give My Heart a Break”
  6. Annika Wickihalder – “Light”
  7. Marcus & Martinus – “Unforgettable”
  8. Dotter – “It’s Not Easy to Write a Love Song”
  9. Medina – “Que Sera”
  10. Liamoo – “Dragon”
  11. Jacqline – “Effortless”
  12. Danny Saucedo – “Happy That You Found Me”


The show can be watched on 9 March, 20:00 CET on the SVTplayer

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Logo Eurovision Song Contest Malmö 2024 / EBU